MAISON PEYRAT

A family history

Historical background, The Founder, Henri Peyrat (1885 – 1969)

Grandfather of the present owner he settled up a business of wines and spirits in the early 1900s.

Henri Peyrat was born in 1885 in Corrèze – France. After his higher grade he came to Cognac to find a job. Native from a forest region he started to work for a cooperage company and soon developed great interest for wine.

He established his own company just after the First World War and rapidly became a well-known local wine merchant. His wines were coming from all regions of France, particularly Bordeaux, Southern France and also Algeria. The company cellars and management offices were established in the centre of Cognac town.

Henri Peyrat’s main concern was to establish solid links with wine growers and major wine suppliers in order to have a consistent source of supply.

His business activity grew constantly for over thirty years and was taken over by his son Jean Peyrat in 1948. The company then became more and more involved in export not only for wines but also for Cognac.

One of his two sons Henri joined the company in 1968 to take in charge all export activity of the Cognac markets. His younger son Philippe is today in charge. His daughter Clémence joined the company and is the charge of Marketing and Communication.

MAISON PEYRAT

Une histoire de famille

Peyrat Associés & Cie, l’origine, le fondateur, Henri Peyrat (1885 – 1969)

Grand père du propriétaire actuel, il créa un commerce de vins et spiritueux au début des années 1900.

Henri Peyrat était né en 1885 en Corrèze – France. Ses études terminées il vint à Cognac pour trouver du travail. Originaire d’une région forestière, il débuta en travaillant dans une tonnellerie mais développa rapidement un grand intérêt pour le vin.

Il fonda sa propre société juste après la première guerre mondiale et devint rapidement un marchand de vin connu dans la région. Ses vins venaient de toutes les régions françaises, en particulier Bordeaux et tout le sud de la France mais aussi d’Algérie. Les chais et les bureaux de la société étaient situés au centre-ville de Cognac.

La principale préoccupation d’Henri Peyrat fut d’établir des liens solides avec les producteurs et les plus important fournisseurs de vin pour bénéficier d’un approvisionnement constant tant en qualité qu’en quantité.

L’activité de l’entreprise augmenta régulièrement pendant trente ans, puis Jean Peyrat, son fils, prit les commandes en 1948. A cette époque, il décida d’orienter la distribution vers les marchés exports non seulement pour les vins mais aussi pour le Cognac.

L’aîné de ses deux fils, Henri, intégra la société en 1968 pour diriger la division export des marchés du Cognac. Son fils cadet, Philippe, dirige aujourd’hui l’entreprise. Sa fille Clémence a rejoint la société pour s’occuper du Marketing et de la Communication.